Registration of a boat refers to a proper pen and paper registration under Arkansas to be eligible to sail on public waters. The Act 733 under the 92nd Arkansas General Assembly Regular Session of 2019 says, from the beginning of January 1st, 2020, the boats that are manufactured during 2020 and after that year are required to be titled through the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration Office for motor vehicles. The owner must register the boat within 30days from purchasing it.
Arkansas certificate and validations are compulsory to operate. To acquire the certificate, it is necessary to show a properly filled-in form, pay the required fee and verify the Hull Identification Number (HIN) under the Revenue Office of the country of the owner of the country where the boat is primarily operated. The certificate of number is valid for 3years.
What Type of Boats Must be registered in Arkansas?
Boats that are exempted:
- Vessels that aren’t run by a machine or a sail.
- Vessels that are legally registered in some other state and utilizing Arkansas waterways for 90 days or less in a row.
- S. Coast Guard-documented vessels (USCG)
What Information is required to register a Boat in Arkansas?
The requirements are as follows:
- Notice of renewal or present registration certificate.
- Concrete evidence from the assessor’s office that the vessel has been evaluated or is scheduled to be evaluated for the present year.
- Clear evidence that individual property tax payments were done by the preceding October 10th.
How Much Does it Cost to Register a Boat in Arkansas?
The fee structure to register a boat in Arkansas is as follows:
|Length of the Boat||Registration fee|
|0 ft. to 16 ft.||$ 7.50|
|16 ft. to 26 ft.||$ 15.00|
|26 ft. to 40 ft.||$ 51.00|
|40 ft. and more||$105.00|
Where Do You Go To Register Your Boat in Arkansas?
The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) manages the registration of boats and title via its Office of Motor Vehicles located in Little Rock. Propeller boat motors are not eligible for hold-on registration and titling in Arkansas. The registration is valid for the next 3years. Prior to the renewal of registration, all the individual tax payments may be cleared, or else registration may get canceled.
Can You Mail Your Boater Registration Form in Arkansas?
It is possible to register your boat in Arkansas online. This is done by properly filling up the registration form and sending it through mail to the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. Next, payment of the appropriate registration fees will complete the procedure.
Where Do You Have to Keep the Boat Registration Number in Arkansas?
The number must be colored, implemented as a decal, or otherwise attached to the front half of each side of the motorboat and placed prominently. On either side of the boat, the number must be aligned from left to right. The number must be a minimum of three inches tall, bold, and must use BLOCK letters. The color of the numbers must not camouflage with the background. Letters and numbers have to be separated by hyphens or space. Any other number must not be present around the Boat Registration Number on either side of the boat.
Where Do You Display Hull Identification Number in Arkansas?
The Hull Identification Number is a unique number consisting of 12-digits assigned to the vessels by the manufacturer. This number is important for distinguishing one vessel from another.
The HIN is carved in fiberglass or on a metal plate that is affixed to the transom.
Boat registration is very much important for both commercial users as well as private users. Every boat propelled to an electric motor must be registered under DFA to abide by the norms and laws of the state. I hope the above details are sufficient to help you out for registering your boat with the legal institution securely. Also hope that the above facts are informative enough to help you combat the difficulties you may face while the registration procedure is done.