According to Connecticut law, boats and sailboats of all sizes with motors must be registered before they can enter the waters of that state. If a boat is purchased from a registered owner, the same must be registered in the name of the buyer as early as possible. Once your boat is registered, it can be used to enjoy leisurely family trips or go fishing with your friends.
Before you venture out on a boating adventure, make sure you familiarize yourself with all other laws existing in Connecticut since these laws can differ from place to place. Remember to keep all the relevant documents with you onboard every time you’re out on the waters, as relevant authorities can scrutinize them at any time.
What Type of Boats Must be Registered in Connecticut?
All motorized vessels and sailboats must be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Boats that are more than 19 1/2 feet must be registered irrespective of whether they are driven by motors or trim tabs. Coast Guard documented vessels also must be registered except for boats registered under another state that are operating in Connecticut for not more than 60 days.
Once registered, the registration certificate is issued in the name of the owner of the boat. This certificate is valid for up to a year after registration. The registration numbers issued to the boat can remain the same until the boat is registered in Connecticut. You will automatically receive a renewal notice issued by the DMV a year after you complete your registration.
What Information is Required to Register a Boat in Connecticut?
You must fill up the CT boat registration form, including titling information completely before submitting it to the CT DMV. Carry all the required documents that are mentioned on the registration website so that you don’t waste time at the office. Take as much documentation as possible such as the MCO, any previous paperwork or out-of-state title of the vessel, a bill of sale, proof of payment, and proof of tax paid.
You can also include the certificate of the decal and a registered photo ID. If you want to register a used boat from a state that does not issue boat titles, you will need a letter from that state mentioning that they do not issue titles. All pending tax dues for the same must be paid.
How Much Does it Cost to Register a Boat in Connecticut?
Boat registration fees are payable depending upon the size of the boat, the material it is made with, and the number of years it has been at sea. The DMV’s chart of registration fees is available on their website. You can even study the registration process in detail and carry the required fees to the office based on the DMV registration fee chart.
Where Do You Go To Register Your Boat in Connecticut?
Boat registrations in Connecticut are taken care of by the Department of Motor Vehicles in that region. The DMV also has several regional services centers all over the state to make things easier for you. Although boats with outboard motors don’t need to register, boat trailers with an above-average weight must be duly registered and acquire a registration certificate. You will need to carry sufficient proof of ownership when you visit the office to avoid any unnecessary delay during the procedure.
Can You Mail Your Boater Registration Form in Connecticut?
Yes. You can mail your completed registration form along with the relevant documents and registration fees to complete the registration process.
Where Do You Have to Keep the Boat Registration Number in Connecticut?
If you’re a boat owner and have received a registration number, keep it three inches high and paint it in a contrasting color to increase visibility from afar. This number must be painted on or attached to both the port and starboard bow. Don’t keep any other designs or markings near the registration number so as to avoid confusion. The registration certificate must be available for scrutiny on board at all times.
Where Do You Display Hull Identification Number in Connecticut?
All vessels manufactured before 1972 are issued a Hull Identification Number that consists of 11 or 13 characters. Vessels that are manufactured in another state can get a 12-character hull number if they are registered in Connecticut. Hull numbers must have the prefix “TZ” “that is distinctly visible in all seasons. The number must be painted or affixed on the upper right-hand side corner of the transom or stem of the boat.