Located in the western part of the USA, Nevada is the largest Gold-Producing State in the world. The state is bordered by Idaho, California, Arizona, Utah, and Oregon. There are lake Tahoe, Lake Mohave, Walker River, Lake Topaz, and so on. All these water bodies are an ideal destination for weekend boat rides.
If you own a boat in Nevada, you must register and title it to operate on the Nevada public waters legally and freely. To help our readers along the way, we have garnered some information in question-and-answer format.
What Type of Boats Must be Registered in Nevada?
All the watercraft having outboard and trolling motors onboard need proper registration. This includes all the personal watercraft, recreational boats, etc. For sailboats, Kayaks, Canoes, and other water vehicles having no motors, there is no need for registration. If your boat is serving as a lifeboat or a rescuing boat under the United States Coast Guard Department, you can avoid the registration process. Also, if you possess the certificate of number issued in some other states within the USA, you don’t have to go all over through the process of registration but transfer the certificate.
What Information is Required to Register a Boat in Nevada?
Well, it is pretty important to submit three to four essential documents in Nevada. First, the concerned authority asks you to show the bill of sale to prove your ownership of the watercraft. You can make an affidavit of watercraft ownership also. Apart from this, the counter will also ask you to show the sales tax report, original papers of manufacturers’ statement of origin, well-filled registration application, and so on. The concerned authority only will verify these papers and then return these to you.
How Much Does it Cost to Register a Boat in Nevada?
If your watercraft’s length is less than 13 feet, you need to pay 20 dollars as a registration fee to the concerned department. For boat-length between 13 feet and 18 feet, the registration cost will be 25 dollars. So, it is understandable that the higher the boat length, the more is the registration fee. For acquiring your boat’s title, you will need to pay 20 dollars, and it is clearly a one-time investment.
Where Do You Go To Register Your Boat in Nevada?
To register your boat, you need to turn up in the taxation offices. These offices are situated in Reno, Carson City, and Las Vegas. If you visit these offices in person, your registration will be done in a single day. Once they issue your certificate of number, you can pay extra to get your titling done as well. Even for the renewal and transfer of registration of your boat, these offices are the right destination.
Can You Mail Your Boater Registration Form in Nevada?
Yes, sure. The Nevada taxation offices have a well functioning online service system. You can mail your registration application along with other documents to their email address. If you want your boat registration to be done over mail, you must send the respective registration fee to the concerned department. It might take a week before the entire registration process is done.
Where Do You Have to Keep the Boat Registration Number in Nevada?
The boat owners keep the registration number on the vessel’s forward half. The validation decals are also placed in the same line. The Nevada federal law asks all the boat operators to write the registration number on either side of the boat and an incomplete block letter. If possible, kindly place some lights near this number to ensure optimal display.
Where Do You Display Hull Identification Number in Nevada?
The Hull Identification Numbers are as crucial as the registration number when it comes to the identification of your boat. The HIN can be placed on the transom, deck joint, hull, gunwale, etc. Try to keep the number in the lower and most visible part of the boat. So, adjust the deck chairs, storage racks, etc., in such a way that your Hull Identification Number is well-visible. You should set up some glowing LED lights to make the HIN visible to all the people on the water.
The Nevada government associates importance to boat registration. We think all these aforementioned details will help you a lot. You can contact the concerned department if you have any doubt regarding the registration. Once your boat is registered, you must follow the coast guard guidelines to remain safe on the water.