Located in the north of Massachusetts, New Hampshire is full of forests, lakes, rivers, and other natural wonders. Newfound Lake, Lake Sunapee, Massabesic Lake, Profile Lake, and many other water bodies are apt for boating and fishing on holidays. You may see rafts, kayaks, pontoon boats, sailboats, motorboats, etc., on public waters of New Hampshire.
No matter what boat you buy, you must register it. A registered boat is allowed to wander freely on the public waters of New Hampshire. Please read the entire article if you want to get complete knowledge regarding boat titling and registration in New Hampshire.
What Type of Boats Must be Registered in New Hampshire?
If your boat has a motor in it, it must be registered. Some boats having a length less than 12 feet are not subject to registration. Canoes, Kayaks, and some non-motorized personal watercraft are the exception to the boating registration laws of New Hampshire. Some people let the U.S. Department of Coast guard use their boat for the rescue operation. These rescue boats, lifeboats, federal boats, etc., allow you to skip the registration. If you bought your boat in other state, you must have registration in that state. In this case, skip registering your boat for the second time in New Hampshire.
What Information is Required to Register a Boat in New Hampshire?
Well, you need to prove your ownership of the boat to the respective authority in New Hampshire. Show them the bill of sale, boat manufacturer’s papers, tax forms of property and sales tax, etc. You must collect the registration application form from the counter and fill it with proper information. Provide the details regarding your boat’s size, weight, year of manufacturing, and so on in that application form. Finally, submit it to the counter.
How Much Does it Cost to Register a Boat in New Hampshire?
The registration fee of your boat is determined by the boat’s size. If the boat is within the length range of 16 feet to 21 feet, you will have to spend 34 dollars. For 45 feet and above boat length, the registration charge will be 92 dollars. In case of transfer and renewal of registration certificate, the respective authority will charge some extra money. You can pay them with credit cards, debit cards, checks, money orders, etc.
Where Do You Go To Register Your Boat in New Hampshire?
You can visit either the DMV office or the Municipal offices for your boat registration. The officers will ask for required documents for verification. After that, they will charge you the registration fee. Finally, they will issue the registration certificate. These offices also do the transfer and renewal of the certificate of number.
Can You Mail Your Boater Registration Form in New Hampshire?
Yes, why not? Suppose you want to register your boat for the first time in New Hampshire. In that case, you can also mail the registration application and the required documents to the respective email addresses of boater registration offices. If you have a prior certificate of number, you can send it via mail too for renewal and transfer. Please send the particular registration fees to the number. It will take you around a fortnight to complete the registration and titling over mail.
Where Do You Have to Keep the Boat Registration Number in New Hampshire?
You will find a number on top of the registration certificate. This number is sometimes called the license number. It helps the coast guards and rescue teams to find your boat in time of need. You must paint the registration number on both sides of the boat, preferably on the front part. The number should not be crowded with other numbers, and you must not keep anchors, nets, and other objects near this number. If possible, try to paint it in full block letters.
Where Do You Display Hull Identification Number in New Hampshire?
Hull Identification Number is located near the hull or deck joint of your boat. Some boat owners prefer to display this number on both inside and outside of the boat. For sailboats, the HIN is near the stern. In the case of inflatable boats, the HIN is located on the transom’s starboard side.
Boat registration is pretty important in New Hampshire if you want to operate your boat freely for your personal purpose. We are hopeful that the aforementioned information will come in handy for novice boat operators.