Only 130 miles away from the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, New Jersey is a populous state of the USA, and it is near New York. There are water bodies like Delaware River, Carnegie Lake, Passaic River, Atsion Lake, Merrill Creek Reservoir, and so on. New Jersey’s public waters are the ideal destination for boat rides on weekends and fishing trips.
You can buy whatever boat you want, but you must register your boats within 180 days after purchase. To help our readers along the process of boat registration, we have garnered all the important information. Please read the full article. It will take only 2 minutes.
What Type of Boats Must be Registered in New Jersey?
According to New Jersey boating laws, all motorized boats having propellers and motors are subject to titling and registration. If your powered vessel is more than 12 feet long, you must go for its registration. There are some exceptions as well. These exceptions are for foreign vessels, lifeboats, U.S. Public Vessels, etc. Also, you should know that private non-motorized vehicles such as kayaks, paddle crafts, canoes, etc., are free from registration.
What Information is Required to Register a Boat in New Jersey?
The boat registration office asks for a number of documents. These are proof of ownership, bill of sale, previous certificate of number, manufacturing papers, etc. To continue the process of registration, you must fill the registration application fully. There, you need to fill in the information regarding your boat’s length, width, height, weight, manufacturing year, and so on. If you have already started paying sales tax and the property tax for your boat, you should show those tax papers to the concerned authorities as well.
How Much Does it Cost to Register a Boat in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, the boat registration fee can be a minimum of 20 dollars. It is totally dependent on the boat length. For boats of length between 16 feet and 26 feet, the registration fee would be 28 dollars. If your boat length falls in the range of 40 feet and 65 feet, you will have to pay around 80 dollars for boat registration. For large boats having a length 65 feet or more, the registration charge would be 250 dollars. For titling and renewal, you will have to pay separately. For a standard title transfer, the cost is 60 dollars.
Where Do You Go To Register Your Boat in New Jersey?
You can visit the local MVC office branch and submit to register your boat in New Jersey. They will ask you to show all the documents for verification purposes. Some people turn up in the DMV offices for renewal and transfer of certificate of number. These offices will also ask you to submit documents proving your age. If you turn up in these registration offices, your boat registration will be done in one day.
Can You Mail Your Boater Registration Form in New Jersey?
The novice boat owners can mail their filled registration applications to the respective offices. In the mail, they should attach a soft copy of all the essential documents and the transaction details of the registration fee. If you try to complete the whole registration process over mail, it will take you more than a week. For getting in touch with the right email address, you can contact the DMV, MVC, or the U.S. Coast Guard Department.
Where Do You Have to Keep the Boat Registration Number in New Jersey?
The registration number is found on the certificate of number. According to boating laws, every boat owner is supposed to show this registration number on either side of the vessel, preferably on the forward part. The number should be legible and written in pure block letters. To ensure optimal visibility, you can install a light near the registration number as well.
Where Do You Display Hull Identification Number in New Jersey?
The Hull Identification Number is another important number every boat inspector asks you to show. The HIN is generally painted on the right side of the Transom. In the case of a sailboat, the HIN is near the Stern. Some people prefer to keep the boat HIN on metal plates. If you also keep the HIN indoors, you must adjust the deck chairs, boat ladders, etc., in such a way that these objects do not cover the Hull Identification Number.
Now that you have read the entire article, it will be pretty easy for you to register your boat. If you still have questions regarding boat registration in New Jersey, please comment below.