Bordered by Virginia, Georgia, and Alabama, Tennessee is a moderately populated state of the USA full of natural wonders. There are Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Center Hill Lake, Dale Hollow Lake, Douglas Lake, Norris Lake, Watts Bar Lake, Tims Ford Lake, Kentucky Lake, and so on. All these water bodies have the potential to make your boat ride extra peaceful.
It’s a trend among the Tennessee residents to own a personal boat. If you buy one for yourself, don’t forget to register and title it within 60 days after purchase. To guide our readers along with the registration of boat, we have talked about some important points in the question-and-answer form.
What Type of Boats Must be Registered in Tennessee?
In simple words, all the mechanically powered watercraft are subject to boat registration in Tennessee. Even the sailboats are not free from registration in this state. Kayaks and Canoes with trolling motors need proper titling and registration to operate on the public waters of Tennessee. Federally documented recreational water vehicles also need to go through boat registration. for the registration of out-of-state boat, you can skip the titling of your watercraft.
What Information is Required to Register a Boat in Tennessee?
You will have to show the previous owner’s registration card or an affidavit of the watercraft ownership transfer certificate if you possess a second-hand boat. As proof of ownership of your water vehicle, you can show the concerned registration office the bill of sale and the tax forms of property tax or sales tax. Most importantly, you will have to submit the properly filled registration application form. Some offices ask you to show the boater education certificate, boating license, or papers of age proof. So, the new boat owners should carry them all.
How Much Does it Cost to Register a Boat in Tennessee?
For boat length below 16 feet, the registration cost will be 13 dollars, and it will remain valid for only one year. If you want a validation period of 2 years and 3 years, you will have to pay a registration fee of 24 dollars and 35 dollars for your boat, respectively. For boats with a length between 16 feet and 26 feet, the one-year registration charge will be 29 dollars. Like other states, in Tennessee, the boat registration charge is proportional to boat length. For a very large boat with a length of more than 40 feet, the registration cost will be 59 dollars for a single year’s validation.
Where Do You Go To Register Your Boat in Tennessee?
The final boat registration certificate will be issued from the county clerk’s office of Tennessee. For acquiring the boat registration application, you can ask the boat dealers or the state’s driving motor vehicle division. The Tennessee boat registration office is situated in Nashville. You can contact some boat agents for help.
Can You Mail Your Boater Registration Form in Tennessee?
Yes, it is possible to mail the application form in Tennessee. Boat owners will have to know the right email address. For this, you can contact the Tennessee boat registration office or the US Coast Guard Department if you want. In the mail, you should attach a scanned copy of all the important boat papers.
Where Do You Have to Keep the Boat Registration Number in Tennessee?
According to the water laws of Tennessee, the boat registration number should be affixed to the front half of the bow. On either side of the bow, the registration number should be placed in such a way that it is properly visible from a certain distance by other boat operators or coast guards. You can think about adding some soft light near your boat registration number.
Where Do You Display Hull Identification Number in Tennessee?
The Hull Identification number is placed on both the inner walls and exterior walls of your watercraft. Generally, this HIN is painted near the upper right half of the watercraft’s transom. To make the number visible, you must not keep items like life jackets, swimming suits, fishing kits, boat ladders, etc., near it. Also, the anchor ropes should not cover your boat’s HIN.
Now that you know everything related to boat registration in Tennessee, you should collect the boat registration application and start filling it. If any question pops up in your mind, please ask us.